THIS IS A STATIC MIRROR OF USERSCRIPTS.ORG - LOGINS DO NOT WORK

Unique Youtube Skin

By haluk Last update May 14, 2014 — Installed 33,874 times.

Add your review

37 reviews


1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Favorite Alternate Youtube Layout , Apr 28, 2014
Review written by MishiDarrow - see all my reviews (4)

Incredible for fullscreen viewing.

0 comments |

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Awesome Script, Awesome Support , Apr 26, 2014
Review written by David Lupton - see all my reviews (2)

This script is absolutely required when using Linux. Not only does it allow me to go full screen while allowing me to use my dual monitors,whenever youtube updates its layout, they update this script to adapt to the changes. Bottom line A++.

0 comments |

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Awesome , Jan 15, 2014
Review written by UnrealGraw - see all my reviews (1)

this is just cool thx soo much.

0 comments |

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Wow amazing , Dec 26, 2013
Review written by Kameronfox - see all my reviews (3)

Thank you man!

0 comments |

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Video and comments section alongside each other like on Android! , Dec 14, 2013
Review written by Arigator - see all my reviews (1)

For years I was looking for a simple possibility to watch youtube videos and read through the comments at the same time (which I like to do when I watch long tutorial videos and get to a point of the video where there is not a lot of interesting information for a few minutes until it gets interesting again) without having to scroll up and down all the time.

The YouTube Android App offered this kind of layout right from the start, so why not the PC browser version?

Also, the videos always look very small on a 1920x1080 display, but you don't always want to watch a video in fullscreen when you are doing some tasks at the same time.

This awesome and indeed 'unique' user script takes care of this: The video gets stretched to its max inside the browser window, while the video description, comments and video recommendations get placed in a row on either the left or the right side of the video (you can choose the position). By default, the row is hidden and in order to make it visible, you have to scroll down with your mouse wheel or with your touchpad, but you can also change this behaviour in the script settings.

It's even possible to activate a "night mode", where the colors of the background and the fonts get inverted (white fonts on black BG) in order to make browsing YouTube more comfortable on the eyes when it's dark.

It's also praiseworthy that the script author updates this script on a regular basis and manages to keep up with the (often extensive) changes of the YouTube design, like the recent introduction of the Google+ comments system.

I can highly recommend this script to everyone who wants to be able to read comments and watch the video simultaneously or wants to make maximum use of the screen real estate when browsing YouTube. The only thing that I would suggest changing is the name, because "Unique YouTube Skin" does not give any information about what this script does exactly, which is especially important when someone searches through userscripts-mirror.org and only the title of this script shows up in the search hit list. I'd suggest a title like "YouTube video & comments next to each other". But I guess it's a bit late for a change and maybe also not that necessary anymore, as this script already has gained a great number of positive ratings and is therefore going to get a lot of people to try it out anyways.

Finally, I also want to mention that this script works great in combination with the "YouTube Center" script if you adjust the settings. This way you can have flags alongside the user comments which display the nationality of the user, you can use buttons in order to download the video in .mp4 or .flv format or the audio only in .mp3, .ogg or .wav format. Most of the other tweaks which "YT Center" offers are already implemented in "Unique YouTube Skin", 'though.

0 comments |

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Great script. , Dec 13, 2013
Review written by Blaztor - see all my reviews (6)

A really great script. Finally no more 70% white on widescreens and the video is the center of the page, how it should be.

0 comments |

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful
4 stars
Fix positioning. , Dec 10, 2013
Review written by Auragar - see all my reviews (2)

On the comments the posting section covers the bottom comment.

1 comment |

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
5 stars
This is how YouTube should look like and he updates this script frecuently , Apr 27, 2014
Review written by 1544C - see all my reviews (5)

I love this interface and it's good to see that he always releases a new version whenever Youtube make an "update".
UPDATE 26/April/2014
I moved to Linux a few weeks ago and it worked fine on Firefox just like it did on Windows, but when I tried it on Google Chrome I had some trouble installing it until it worked by installing it manually with Tampermonkey.

0 comments |

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Best youtube script there is! , Apr 19, 2014
Review written by anonnow - see all my reviews (3)

Just thought I needed to express my thanks to the author of this script after many months using it. You have completely revolutionized my youtube experience and made it tolerable again. With this script, I can now use the full screen real estate along with scrolling comments on the side, dark or light color, and disable dash, this is the best script for youtube and on userscripts.

0 comments |

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
5 stars
Charming , Nov 15, 2013
Review written by stretchion - see all my reviews (11)

★★★★★★★

0 comments |